Skip to content

The final list of Candidates for Brandon-Souris and Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa constituencies

Here's the information that you need before you cast your ballot.
Elections ca 2
Workers assemble materials for the election at Elections Canada distribution centre.

A federal election in Canada results in one of the recognized political parties forming a government, either a majority or as is the current situation - a minority. While the platforms and policies of the government influence the Canadian economy and social values, the individual candidates are the voice of the people in their constituency. The western Manitoba ridings of Brandon-Souris and Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa have a selection of candidates that cover the full political spectrum.


Brandon-Souris riding includes Virden, Oak Lake, Elkhorn and communities south to the U.S. border. The Conservative Party candidate here is Larry Maguire. He was first elected as the Member of Parliament for the federal riding of Brandon-Souris on November 25, 2013, and re-elected in the 2015 and 2019 elections. He was born in Souris, Manitoba, where he grew up on the family farm. Running for the Liberal Party in this riding is Linda Branconnier. Although the Liberal Party has not released further information about the candidate, research shows she works at Priority Financial in Winnipeg. Whitney Hodgins is the N.D.P candidate in Brandon-Souris. She is a security professional who lives in Brandon and has family across Western Manitoba. Tyler Baer represents the People’s Party in this election. He is a small business owner and independent contractor from Brandon.

Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa

The Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa riding includes the communities of Miniota, Kenton, McAuley, Sioux Valley and northward. The Conservative Party candidate is Dan Mazier, who farm grains, oil seeds and specialty crops near Justice. He was elected as Member of Parliament in 2019. The Liberal Party is represented by Kevin Carlson. He lives in The Pas and is currently the executive director of The Pas Friendship Centre. He is originally from Winnipegosis. Representing the N.D.P. is Arthur Holroyd. He has worked with the Manitoba Theatre for Young People of Winnipeg. The People’s Party has chosen Donnan McKenna as their representative in this constituency. He’s a retired RCMP Superintendent from the R.M. of Mountain. Running for the Green Party is Shirley Lambrecht. She was originally from Saskatchewan but is currently a wellness and healing consultant from Nanaimo. The Maverick Party representative is Lori Falloon. She is from Foxwarren, where she grew up on the family farm.

Check out your riding here: