Skip to content

Manitoba launches nomination process for new Shared Health board of directors

Eleven Directors are to be Selected to Govern Provincial Health Organization: Gordon
Winnipeg for Shared Health
Shared Health operates Winnipeg's Health Sciences Centre and other Manitoba hospitals and health services.

The Manitoba government is currently accepting nominations for the first permanent board of directors for Shared Health, which will be officially formed this spring, Health and Seniors Care Minister Audrey Gordon announced early this week.

“We are looking for a diverse group of Manitobans with a range of skills, experiences and backgrounds to guide Shared Health in the years ahead,” said Gordon. “The board will help promote Shared Health’s mandate to protect our most vulnerable populations and create a healthy, thriving Manitoba now and into the future. If you are passionate about health care, I would encourage you to complete a nomination form for the board of directors.”

In total, 11 people will be appointed to the board, which is responsible for the mandate, resources and performance of Shared Health. The board must also ensure the organization complies with applicable legislation, regulations and provincial policies that govern the health-care system.

Directors are to represent the diversity of Manitoba’s population and have a broad cross-section of skills, interests, experience and expertise. They should also have a strong sense of commitment to achieving the provincial vision of healthy Manitobans through prevention and care.

The deadline to apply is Monday, Jan. 31. The new board will be put in place before March 31.

Directors will be appointed to staggered terms of one, two or three years to promote healthy turnover while ensuring board stability. If they wish to seek reappointment, directors will be able to serve for a maximum of six consecutive years.

Employees and medical staff of Shared Health are not eligible to apply, along with employees, medical staff, or board members of affiliated organizations.

For more information or to view the nomination form, visit: