Birdtail River Fine Arts festival

An enjoyable concert on Sunday, March 10 in the Hamiota United Church wrapped up the music and visual arts portion of the Birdtail River Festival. An increase in entries and the return of instrumental/band and dance sessions were enjoyed by audiences. This year all adjudicators brought a teaching style of adjudication to the performers.

Adjudications were enjoyed from: vocal PatWray,Treherne; piano Julianne Warkentin, Winnipeg; instrumental/band Chris McConnell, Souris; dance Kelly Lumbard, Brandon and visual arts Joan Trott, Hamiota and Marilyn Shick, Isabella.

article continues below

Vocal Awards

Park West School Division for Classroom Choirs Grades 1-4 — Miniota 1-3;

Tommy Mitchell Memorial Classroom Choir Grades 5-8 — Miniota 4-8;

Vi Smith Memorial Folk Song Medallion and the Shoal Lake Beta Sigma Phi

Sorority Award for Sacred Solo (10&U) — Ariah Davison, Hamiota;

Miniota Anglican Women's Award for Sacred Solo, the Arrow River Women's Trophy (highest mark 11-14 yrs.) and the West Two Creeks Trophy for Hymn Class — Heidi Clark, Isabella;

Isabella Vocal Award (highest mark 10&U) and Scholarship for Gr.1-4 - Jude Davison, Hamiota;

Crandall United Church plaque soloist (14&U showing promise) and (Scholarship 11-14 yr.) — Elise Armitage, Miniota;

Eileen Kent Honorary Award (student showing promise) - Brooke Thompson, Miniota;

Miniota New Horizons Award (highest mark, musical theatre 15&O), Mathison Trophy (excellence 15&O), and Scholarship and nomination to Provincials - Musical Theatre — Jessica Young, Miniota;

Hamiota Lions Club Trophy (vocal duet/trio/quartet) Heidi Clark, Riley Sheane and Brooke Thompson, Miniota.

Piano Awards

Beginner Medallion- Chloe Facey, Hamiota;

Gr. 1 Medallion — Monelle Bryant, Miniota;

Mable Brandon Memorial Scholarship, Beginner — Gr. 2 - Rainn Paddock, Rivers;

Gr. 2 Medallion - Roanna Davison, Hamiota;

Mable Brandon Memorial Scholarship Level 3-5 and Nicholson Farms Award Level 3 - Aimee Creighton, Rivers;

Nicholson Farms Award Level 4, Country Crocus Bakeshop Award (outstanding performance Gr. 4-7) and nomination to Provincials - Ella Gurr, Hamiota;

Kenton Consumers Co-op Trophy highest mark in Level 5 - Aurora Mikkelson, Newdale;

Viterra Oakner trophy Level 6, nomination to intermediate Provincials and Peace Gardens Scholarship - Emily Bryant, Miniota;

Mable Brandon Memorial Scholarship Levels 6-9 and nomination to advanced Provincials - Raven McKenzie, St. Lazare;

Visual Arts Awards

Robert Stewart Memorial Trophy (outstanding work) — Mano Hashikawa, Birtle Collegiate;

Hamiota Art Club scholarship - April Webber, Birtle;

Honourable Mentions in Visual Arts: Sam Keller, Madison Barteaux, Skye

Belheumeur, Peytin Hawtin (Birtle Collegiate), Nicholas Waldner and Gabe

Waldner (Decker Colony School), and Avery Clark, Brandi Couvier and Scotlin Priestley (Miniota School).

Dance Awards

Scholarship for Solo - Katelyn Melnyk, Russell and Heidi Clark, Isabella;

Scholarship for Duet - Brady Gregory and Kendra Dale, Hamiota;


Instrumental Solo Scholarship - Alex Boryskavich, Hamiota;

Band Scholarship - Hamiota Senior Band.

The Festival committee looks forward to planning for the 2020 festival at the upcoming AGM, April 25, in Hamiota.

© Virden Empire-Advance