School trustees: many acclamations, few elections

Not enough candidates interested

The problem of a shortage of candidates has struck school divisions across Western Manitoba, including Fort La Bosse, which has resulted in many acclamations and only a few wards seeing elections across the region on Oct. 24.

Fort La Bosse School Division

article continues below

There will only be one ward electing a new trustee in the division. The other wards have either acclaimed their trustees or received no nominations:

Ward 1 Craig W. Russell – Acclaimed

Ward 1 No nominations received

Ward 2 Margaret Walker – Acclaimed

Ward 3 Darcy Campion – Acclaimed

Ward 4 One trustee to be elected between Kayla Moore and Garry Draper

Ward 5 No nominations received

Earlier this year, the Fort La Bosse Division voted to reduce the size of its board from ten trustees to six in order to cut costs. Six of the current trustees did not run for re-election and won’t be back: Dawna Jamieson, Nicole Chaske, Robert Cochrane, Charles Lowes, Lisa Irwin and Robert Masson.

Kent Reid, Secretary-Treasurer of Fort La Bosse, says the newly elected board will have to fill the two vacant seats in Wards 1 and 5 by appointing trustees as mandated by the Public Schools Act.

Park West School Division

No election for trustees in Park West. Eight of its ten positions were acclaimed for a term of four years starting with their first meeting Oct. 25.

Acclaimed are:

Ward 1 Jennifer Andrew

Ward 2 Tiffany Priestley

Ward 4 Dana Barteaux

Ward 5 Sandra Szwaluk

Ward 6 Debby Lee

Ward 7 Patsy Chuhai

Ward 9 James Roszell

Ward 10 Lisa Makwebak

The new board will appoint trustees to represent Wards 3 and 8.

Southwest Horizon School Division

On Oct. 24, Southwest Horizon will hold an election in only one of its five wards. In wards with no or insufficient nominees, the new board will appoint trustees to fill them:

Ward 1 Melita/Pierson (2 Positions): Allan Downey (Acclaimed), Amelia Fewings (Acclaimed)

Ward 2 Deloraine/Waskada (2 Positions): Marla Gross (Acclaimed), one vacancy

Ward 3 Hartney (1 Position): Brendan Hicks (Acclaimed) 

Ward 4 Souris (2 Positions): Julie Cwir (Acclaimed), one vacancy 

Ward 5 Wawanesa (1 Position): election candidates Janice McDonald, Ryan Prevost

© Virden Empire-Advance