This time, Virden will have an election

Twelve candidates run for seven seats

A total of 12 citizens, including four current councillors, have filed their papers to run for office in the Town of Virden.

Two are running for mayor:

article continues below
  • Murray Wright (former Virden councillor) and
  • Brock Koop (current Virden councillor).

Ten others will compete for six councillor positions. They are:

  • Tara Cowan, current councillor
  • Lomer Girardin, current councillor
  • Tina Williams, current councillor
  • Grant Gardiner
  • Raymond Moorehead
  • Karel Munchinsky
  • Travis Penner
  • Paul Rhodes
  • Shannon Walowetz
  • Whitney Wright

The deadline to file nominations papers was 4:30 p.m. Tuesday at Virden Town Hall. 

In recent election cycles, there were insufficient numbers of candidates in Virden to hold an election and all were acclaimed. 

© Virden Empire-Advance

Curling in Virden POLL

Will you be attending the Viterra men's curling this week in Virden? How many games do you plan to see?

or  view results

Popular Local News