VCI undergrads receive recognition and cash award


Honour Roll certificates were handed out to Grade 9 and 10 recipients who achieved an 80 per cent average in the five core courses: English, Math, Social Studies or Geography, Science and Phys Ed.

article continues below

Each Gr. 11 recipient achieved an 80 per cent in English, Math, History and two electives.

The three top average students received $150, $100 and $50 each.

Gr. 9 awards were presented by Mrs. Mitchell on behalf of the VCI Keychain Sponsors to Hayley Kirkup, Zoe Schwindt and Hayley Plaisier.

Gr. 10 awards were presented by Mr. Tripp on behalf of the VCI Keychain Sponsors to Hannah Peters, Laura Archambault and Emma Rhodes.

Gr. 11 awards were presented by Mrs. Kliever on behalf of the Myrtle Lane Foundation to Brycen Reimer, Ashton Gilliland and Sienna Hodson.

VCI Staff Award of $75 is given to a student in each grade who has a positive impact in the classroom.  Staff are asked to nominate students, and winners are chosen from this list. Awards were presented by Mr. Keown to Gr. 11 Jackson Charles, Gr. 10 Shaina Elk and Gr. 9 Rhett Grieve.

The Bear Spirit award is a $75 award given to a student in each grade who is a hard worker, has a good attitude and good attendance throughout the 2018-2019 school year. On behalf of VCI Parent Council Mrs. Lansing presented to Gr. 11 recipient Abbey Tomlinson, Gr. 10 recipient Anezka Niones and Gr. 9 recipient Abby Collen

The J. Arthur Harvey award of $75 was presented to two former Oak Lake students with the highest academic averages in their Gr. 11 year. Mrs. Chyzyk presented on behalf of the Town of Oak Lake to Sarah Plaisier and Anita Vachon.

The Kola Parent Council Award is a $50 award to a former Kola School student with the greatest academic improvement in the 2018-2019 school year. Miss Friesen on behalf of the Kola Parent Advisory Council presented the award to Nathanael Berg.

The Piston Ring Top Power Mechanic Award was presented to a deserving student in the Power Mech stream. Mr. Barrate and Mr. Denty presented the award to Ty Levandosky.

The final award of the evening, the Gr. 11 Woods award was for $150 sponsored by Roger Branum Construction. The award goes to a student with the highest mark in Woods who is continuing in the Gr. 12 Woods course. Mr. Doug Roach presented the award to Rubin Berg.


© Virden Empire-Advance