Virden Music & Arts Festival winners

The festival recognizes the 2019Award Winners and donors of shields and glass trophies.

Enbridge Senior Scholarship of Excellence:Emily Cochrane in Vocal, Speech Arts, Piano. This award has been made available through Enbridge Pipelines’ Inc. donation. It is presented to a senior student with the highest average entering two or more disciplines.

article continues below

Instrumental Awards   

Fort La Bosse School Division Shield- Band: Virden Collegiate Concert Band; Reston Merchants Association Shield- Instrumental Duet: Lily Flannery & Daelyn Fefchak; Fred Bryant Memorial Shield- Instrumental Ensemble: Reston School Gr 6; Scotiabank Trophy- Highest Mark: Erwin Neufeld; Tundra Oil & Gas Scholarship Sr: Brycen Reimer; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Erwin Neufeld; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Keira Peters; VMA Scholarship Jr: Rebeka Penner; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Kyra Harper. Provincial Recommendations: Erwin Neufeld, Keira Peters

Dance Awards      

Legion Ladies Shield- Dance Solo: Shelby Cranston; Tutthill Construction Shield- Dance Duo or Trio: Ella Guthrie, Zoe Redekop, Parker Lyle; McNeill Harasymchuk McConnell Shield- Group Dance: Virden Dance Club Shield- Troupe Dance: Reston 14U (Jazz); Tundra Oil & Gas Scholarship Sr: Laura Scott; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Brooklyn Lyle; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Olivia Hayward; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Emma Aboud-McConnell; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Parker Lyle; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Sarah Chappell; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Brooklyn Stitt


St Mary’s Anglican Church Shield- Vocal Sacred Solo: Esther Pringle; Enbridge Pipelines Shield- Vocal Duet or Trio: Dylan Southam & Daelyn Fefchak; Rev. Brenda Ferguson Shield- Musical Theatre Solo: Emily Cochrane; Virden Empire-Advance Shield- School Choir Gr 1-4: Goulter School Gr 3/4 Choir; Tutthill Construction Shield- School Choir Gr 5-12: Sound Investment Girls; V&S Hellman Shield- Choirs & Vocal Groups other than School: Noteable Women; RBC Royal Bank Trophy– Highest Mark: Emily Cochrane; Bernice McDonald Memorial Scholarship Sr: Olivia Hayward; Bernice McDonald Memorial Scholarship Sr: Hope Mathison-Lindsey; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Haylee Plaisier, Daelyn Fefchak, Paige Rampton; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Charley Dunning. Provincial Recommendations: Emily Cochrane, Haylee Plaisier

Piano Awards   

L. Penner Lumber Shield- Solo Piano Gr 1-4:           Indiana Thiessen / Matthew Kirkup; Royal Purple Shield- Duet or Trio Piano Gr 1-10:Rachel Peters & Hannah Peters; Virden Baptist Church Shield- Sacred Solo Piano Sr or Jr: Hannah Peters; CIBC Trophy Sr- Highest Mark: Hayley Kirkup; Mabel Brandon Memorial Scholarship Sr: Hannah Peters; Bernice McDonald Memorial Scholarship Sr: Brycen Reimer; Tundra Oil & Gas Scholarship Sr:      Laura Archambault; Evelyne & Kris Sundell Memorial Scholarship Jr: Colten James; Evelyne & Kris Sundell Memorial Scholarship Jr: Lukas Baer; VMAF Scholarships Jr: Matthew Kirkup, Arthur Ens, Indiana Thiessen, Mitchell Draper, Kyla Cristobal. Provincial Recommendations: Brycen Reimer, Hayley Kirkup, Evan Terin, Matthew Kirkup, Laura Archambault

Alternates:Hannah Peters

Speech Arts Awards    

Andrew Agencies Shield- Choral Speaking Gr. 1-3: Mary Montgomery School Gr 2 (Pearn); Elkhorn Chamber of Commerce Shield- Choral Speaking Gr. 4-6:     Mary Montgomery School Gr 4 (Johnson); Kassie’s Jewellery Shield- Choral Speaking Gr. 7-12: Virden Collegiate Drama Gr 10-12 (Chyzyk); Virden Collegiate Drama Shield-Monolgue Gr 1-12: Kayla Bryant; RM of Wallace-Woodworth Shield - Poetry Duet, Trio, Quartet: Daelyn Fefchak & Dylan Southam; Town of Virden Shield- Drama or Dramatization: Dylan Gompf, Will Podobni, Giordy Giannico, & Brendan Plaisier; Sunrise Credit Union Trophy- Highest Mark: Kayla Bryant; SW Assiniboine Chapter of Retired Teachers Scholarship Sr: Tuff Barnesky, Dylan Southam; VMAF Scholarship Sr: Lucy Boynton, Brooke Wernaart, Kennedy Langevin; SW Assiniboine Chapter of Retired Teachers Scholarship Jr: Kiahna Barkley; VMAF Scholarship Jr: Scotlyn Chadney, Alexa Banga, Abby Pearn, Gage Hadley, Kennidy Routledge, Quincy Smith, Tyra Wilkinson. Provincial Recommendations: Teagan Harkness, Dylan Southam, Kiahna Barkley, Jasmyne Andries, Emily Cochrane; Alternates: Libby Verran, Kennedy Langevin

Visual ArtsAwards 

Arts Mosaic Scholarship Sr Grades 10-12: Abbey Tomlinson; Arts Mosaic Scholarship Sr Grades 7-9: Olivia Mowez; Arts Mosaic Scholarship Jr Grades 4-6: Mya Plaisier, Derek Quinn; VMAF Scholarship Jr Grades 1-3: Kenzie Hayden, Leah Mytopher.

© Virden Empire-Advance