Virden's Larry Wegner to lead MFGA

Darren Chapman steps down from Forage and Grassland Association

Virden's Larry Wegner was recently announced as the new Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association (MFGA) chairperson. Wegner, a longtime member of the Manitoba Beef Producers (MBP) Board of Directors, succeeds fellow Virden-area producer Darren Chapman at the helm of the grass and forage producer group.

"I would like to thank Darren Chapman for his leadership in guiding MFGA along our own path in the industry. I am glad that Darren will remain as past chair on our executive board to help guide MFGA in to the future," said Wegner, who terms off the MBP Board in February. "I am very excited to have the opportunity to lead MFGA in this exciting regenerative stage of the organization's long and storied history to help producers find ways to be profitable using both perennial and annual forages for their livestock while improving the soil health and bolstering other key grassland and forages that provide values to society such as carbon sequestration, biodiversity and water quality.  I am thrilled to be leading a grass root organization that has a board full of out-of-the-box thinkers and doers and determined and dedicated staff that want to make this industry a leader for the next generation." 

article continues below

MFGA finance chair Ryan Boyd retained his position for another term on the MFGA Board Executive while Lawrence Knockaert of Bruxelles begins his first term as MFGA vice-chair. One other move on the MFGA 2020 Board of Directors roster saw Jacques Saquet of Laurier confirmed as Manitoba Bison Association representative on the MFGA Board.

Wegner runs a grazing operation with wife Rosemary and sons Max and Herb near Virden. Wegner is especially interested and keen on producer-led regenerative agriculture in Manitoba and brings a high level of expertise and understanding on the subject that will benefit MFGA's focus and outreach including the 2020 Regenerative Agriculture Conference slated for Brandon in November 2020.

The 2020/21 MFGA Board of Directors:

Producer Representatives: Larry Wegner (Chair - Virden), Ryan Boyd (Finance Chair - Forrest), Andrea Hamilton (Glenboro), Kristelle Harper (Brandon), Shauna Breault (Ste. Rose), Matt Van Steelandt (Melita), Arron Nerbas (Shellmouth)

Appointed Commodity Groups or Associations/Members:

Lawrence Knockaert (Vice-Chair - Bruxelles), Dairy Farmers of Manitoba; Mike Duguid, Manitoba Beef Producers; Darren Chapman (Past Chair - Virden), Manitoba Hay Exporters; Colin Hunter, Manitoba Sheep Producers; Jacques Saquet, Manitoba Bison Association

Ex-Officio Board Members:

Mae Elsinger, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Charlotte Crawley, Ducks Unlimited Canada; Pam Iwanchysko, Manitoba Agriculture; Dr. Emma McGeough, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, University of Manitoba.


© Virden Empire-Advance