It's official - Manitoba election called for Sept. 10

Manitoba’s 42nd provincial general election has been called for Tuesday, September 10.

New electoral division boundaries will take effect for this election and western Manitoba will experience significant changes, particularly the disappearance of the Arthur-Virden riding.

article continues below

Boundary changes mean that Virden, Elkhorn, Reston, Pipestone, Cromer, Canupawakpa and Sioux Valley First Nation are now in the Riding Mountain division.

Its two candidates so far are Wayne Chacun (NDP) and Greg Nesbitt (PC). The Liberal party, which committed to run candidates in every Manitoba riding, has yet to nominate in Riding Mountain and Spruce Woods.

The Spruce Woods riding encompasses Oak Lake, Oak Lake Beach, Griswold, and points east. The candidates there are Cliff Cullen (PC) and Justin Shannon (NDP).

South of Virden and running along the Saskatchewan and US borders is the new riding of Turtle Mountain, which includes the towns of Melita, Tilston, Pierson, Napinka, Lyleton, Waskada and points east. Candidates there are Richard Davies (LIB), Doyle Piwniuk (PC), and Angie Herrera-Hildebrand (NDP).

Candidates still have time to file nomination papers until 1:00 p.m. on Monday, August 26.

You can identify your electoral division, your candidates, and other voting information at

© Virden Empire-Advance

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.

Popular Local News