Viterra Championship news

Results from Virden’s TOGP


First Draw

article continues below

Team Kelly Robertson of Neepawa was defeated by Team Riley Smith of Ft. Rouge Curling Club who scored a five–ender in the fifth to finish with and 8 – 3 win.

Team Ryan Thomson of Granite Curling Club (Winnipeg) beat Team Steve Irwin out of Brandon 9 – 3.

Team David Bohn of Assiniboine Memorial Club defeated Team Curtis McCannell of Pilot Mound 8 – 3. Both teams blanked the last three ends.

Team Jason Gunnlaugson of Morris defeated Team Darren Perche out of Charleswood Curling Club 10 – 2, both teams blanked all four final ends.

Team Graham Freeman of Virden narrowly defeated Team Kelly Marnoch of Carberry 6 – 4.

In the early draw, Team Gunnlaugson against Team Perche saw four blank ends in seven through 10.  McCannel and Bohn blancke their final three ends. As the day played on, the Reid Carruthers rink scored big against their Granite Curling Club opponents, Team Daudet with a score of 15 – 1. Both teams scored early in the play, blanking the last five ends.

Second Draw

Team Tanner Lott (Winnipeg Beach) over Team Greg Todoruk (Dauphin) 9 – 2.

Team Sean Grassie (Winnipeg) over Team Mark Lukowich (Winnipeg) 10 – 3.

Team Trevor Loreth (Lorette) over Team Brett Walter (Winnipeg) 10 – 3.

Team Braden Calvert (Winipeg) over Team Shaun Parsons (Thompson) 9 – 3.

Team William Lyburn (Winnipeg) over Team Dean North (Carman) 8 – 3).

Third Draw

Team Corey Chambers (Lorette) over Team Jeff Stewart (Gladstone) 10 – 5

Team Daniel Birchard (Winnipeg) over Team Steen Sigurdson (Gimli) 8 – 1.

Team Terry McNamee (Brandon) over Team Randy Neufeld (Le Salle) 7 – 2.

Team Reid Carruthers (RM of West St. Paul) over Team Robert Daudet (Winnipeg) 15 – 1.

Team Dennis Bohn (Winnipeg) over Team Grant Shewfelt (Baldur) 6 – 5.

Fourth Draw (TBA)

For ongoing results see CurlManitoba’s scoreboard, updated as the draws finish!/competitions/4440/draws/17182

© Virden Empire-Advance