Druwe continues as Reeve of Sifton

Two of three wards in RM to hold elections

Cyril Druwe will continue to serve as Reeve of the RM of Sifton by acclamation. The deadline to present nomination papers was Tuesday and nobody came forward to run against him.

Back in June, Druwe told the Empire-Advance he would stand for election for reeve if nobody else wanted the job. He served as councillor and deputy reeve for almost 20 years in the RM before being elected reeve in a 2017 by-election. 

article continues below

Also acclaimed are the three councillors currently representing Sifton’s Ward 2. But the other two wards in Sifton will hold elections due to a strong field of registered candidates.

Acclaimed to office:


  1. Cyril Druwe

Ward 2 councillors:                                

  1. Scott Phillips,
  2. Stan Cochrane,
  3. Wilson Davis

An election will be called for:

Ward 1 (three councillors):                  

  1. Clement Gervais,
  2. Larry Wallace,
  3. Tara Kenning Larway,
  4. Rick Gabrielle,
  5. Russell Thiessen

Ward 3 (two councillors):             

  1. Dave Roullette,
  2. Jeff Sigurdson,
  3. Reg Morcombe,
  4. Ron Enns Jr.,
  5. Mark Houston


© Virden Empire-Advance