Elkhorn celebrates community strengths

At the 4thAnnual Banquet and Awards night hosted by the Elkhorn District Chamber of Commerce, Elkhorn’s signature tourist stop - Manitoba Antique Auto Museum - was a big winner, as was the lady who has worked hard for the museum – Lillian Jackson.

The formal gala was held May 25 at the Elks Hall where some 10 awards were presented to businesses, non-profits and individuals and foundation grants were presented.

article continues below

The evening, hosted by Elkhorn personalities Mark Humphries and Fred McLean, began with a delicious roast beef supper prepared by Kliever Katering.

First awards of the evening were the Entrepreneur Award won by Clayton Orchards, the Community Contribution Award won by Elkhorn Elks and Employee of the Year won by Darby Shackel.

During the evening the Elkhorn LUD Citizen of the Year was awarded to Lillian Jackson. She was nominated by the Elkhorn Elks and the Elkhorn Museum Restoration Club.

Jackson is the secretary/treasurer for the Restoration Club, spending many hours applying for grants for various projects and actively volunteering her time working in the museum, and on projects such as the restoration of a century old farm house. She has also been a long-time member of the Elks (Royal Purple) serving in a variety of positions.

Jackson thanked the groups for her nomination saying she felt blessed to have been a member of the organizations and having the opportunity to volunteer in the community.

The Chamber Longstanding Service Award was presented to Sharlean Bickerton. Bickerton was born and raised in Elkhorn. She operated the Esso Cafe for a number of years with her husband, Bill, owning the service station. She later bought Tommy’s Cafe and converted it to the Roseberry Inn. She has been active on the Chamber and as a result of her work with the Chamber started the Western Weekend events, organized fundraisers to have lamp standards installed along Richhill Ave., as well as having a gazebo, memory wall and benches installed in the park.

Twin Valley Co-op Food Store (Rhonda Hansen) received the Customer Service award.

The Elkhorn & Area Foundation presented their annual grants with $78,535 awarded to 15 groups. The largest awards were presented to Elkhorn Early Learning Centre, Elkhorn Agricultural Society and the Elkhorn District Community Centre with each group receiving $15,000.

The Elkhorn Development Corporation donated $10,000 to the Elkhorn & Area Foundation (Manitoba Heritage Trust program) to be held as a designated fund for the Manitoba Antique Automobile Museum. With added funds from the Carolyn Sifton Foundation and the Manitoba Government the donation becomes an endowment of $17,250 for museum operations for years to come.

The Elkhorn Chamber Recognition Award was presented to Kevin Tutthill. Tutthill was recognized for his work in the community in the areas of education, his involvement in the family business and as a member of the Elkhorn Elks. He is the president of the Elks and also serves on provincial and national committees in the Elks organization.

The final awards of the evening were: Tourism Award presented to the Manitoba Antique Automobile Museum; Tradesperson Award presented to Bick’s Auto; Excellence in Construction presented to Canart Backhoe and People’s Choice Award presented to Twin Valley Co-op Hardware.

The evening closed with remarks from Mark Humphries. With the near-closing of the Twin Valley Co-op Hardware store, he emphasized the importance of supporting the local businesses and services offered in our communities.

© Virden Empire-Advance

Self-checkout POLL

Where they are available, how often do you use Self-checkout?

or  view results