Manitoba election called

Manitoba’s 42nd provincial general election has been called today for Tuesday, September 10.

New electoral division boundaries take effect for this election.

article continues below

Virden, Elkhorn and Reston are now part of the Riding Mountain riding and its two candidates are: Greg Nesbitt, PC, and Wayne Chacun, NDP. The Liberal party has yet to nominate in Riding Mountain. Candidates have until Aug. 26 to file nomination papers. 

(The current MLA for the Virden area is Doyle Piwniuk. He'll be running as a PC again, but in the new riding of Turtle Mountain to the south and east of Virden.)

Voters in other regions can find their electoral division and all their voting information at

© Virden Empire-Advance